DMAA: EPA 608 Certification

Wednesday, May 15, 2024
9:00 AM (EDT)
to Thursday, May 16, 2024 at 4:00 PM (EDT)
Category: Education

The EPA 608 Technician Certification is essential for HVAC professionals who work with refrigerants. Here are the key details:


Certification Requirements:

  • Technicians who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants into the atmosphere must be certified under 40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F of the Clean Air Act.
  • To earn the Section 608 Technician Certification, technicians must pass an EPA-approved test specific to the type of equipment they work on.
  • The certification does not expire, and there is no need for renewal.

Types of Certifications:

EPA offers four types of certifications:

  • Type I: For servicing small appliances.
  • Type II: For servicing or disposing of high- or very high-pressure appliances (except small appliances and MVACs).
  • Type III: For servicing or disposing of low-pressure appliances.
  • Universal: For servicing all types of equipment.

Each certification type covers different topics.

For More Information:

Property Management Association of Michigan Logo P.O. Box 1098
Okemos, MI 48864